Volunteer

Make a difference to the future generation in your community.

We’re looking for volunteers to help deliver Bikeability Scotland, the national cycle training programme for school children.

The programme is supported by a network of volunteer instructors, often parents, grandparents and members of the local community, across the length and breadth of Scotland. This is where you come in! You’ll teach children to ride confidently and safely – a life skill that will stay with them forever.

By becoming a volunteer you’ll:

  • Receive free, SCQF-accredited training, in a fully risk-assessed environment
  • Contribute in a fun and rewarding way to your local community
  • Play your part in tackling climate change by helping more children and families to make more journeys by bike

Get the wheels in motion, get in touch with your local authority coordinator below:

Sally Duthie
Adventure Aberdeen
01224270990
sduthie@sportaberdeen.co.uk

Please contact your local school who will put you in touch with the Local Authority Coordinator.

John Bremner
Bikeability Co-ordinator
07838 541511
john.bremner@cyclehub.org

Nona Thomas
Assistant Active Schools Manager
01631 567 902
Nona.Thomas@liveargyll.co.uk

Please note that Argyll and Bute Council is piloting Bikeability Scotland training – for further information please use the above contact details.

Joe Clark
Active Schools Manager
01259 452337
jclark@clacks.gov.uk

Jenna Macleod
Active Schools Co-ordinator
01851 822 783
jenna.macleod@cne-siar.gov.uk

or

Iain Campbell
Active Schools Manager
01851 822 782
iain.campbell@cne-siar.gov.uk

Peri Wallach
Bikeability Scotland Coordinator
bikeability@dumgal.gov.uk

Read my bio...

Norbert Boros
Bikeability Scotland Coordinator
07825 592868
Norbert.boros@leisureandculturedundee.com

or

Billy Thomson
Active Travel Coordinator
01382 435916
billy.thomson@leisureandculturedundee.com

Barbara Rae
07919 993401
Barbara.Rae@ayrshireroadsalliance.org

Please note that East Ayrshire Council is piloting Bikeability Scotland training – for further information please use the above contact details.

Alan Smith
Outdoor Education Officer
0141 578 8728
alan.smith@eastdunbarton.gov.uk

Philippa Barber
0131 202 4293
outdoorlearning@elcschool.org.uk

Craig Dalziel
Bikeability Scotland Coordinator
07387 530982
Craig.Dalziel@eastrenfrewshire.gov.uk

Please contact your local school's Head Teacher.

George Callaghan
Transport Planning Officer (cycling)
07923 137 809

Shealagh Crabb
Bikeability Co-ordinator
03451 55 55 55 (ext: 40 21 76)
bikeability@fife.gov.uk

or

Karen Swanson
Technical Assistant – Assets, Transportation and Environment
03451 55 55 55 (ext: 44 44 06)
karen.swanson@fife.gov.uk

Collett Carroll
Assistant Road Safety Officer
07884 753 273
Collett.Carroll@glasgow.gov.uk

Emma Garden
Bikeability Co-ordinator
01463 702039
Emma.Garden@highland.gov.uk

Eileen Bell
Road Safety Officer
01475 715985
Eileen.Bell@inverclyde.gov.uk

Kieran Power
Bikeability Coordinator
Kieran.Power@midlothian.gov.uk

or

Gillian Bathgate
School Travel Plan Co-ordinator
0131 271 3660
Gillian.Bathgate@midlothian.gov.uk

Janet MacDonald
Sustainable Travel Officer
01343 563783
Janet.MacDonald@moray.gov.uk

Donna Brown
Bikeability Coordinator
01343 549 571
info@outfitmoray.com

Road Safety
01294 324834
fcameron@north-ayrshire.gov.uk

Please note that North Ayrshire Council does not deliver Bikeability Scotland training. The Road Safety Unit will be able to tell you about their local cycle training arrangements.

Ross Sweeney
Active Schools Coordinator
07976 946943
SweeneyRo@northlan.gov.uk

Yvonne Scott
Road Safety Officer
01856 873535
Yvonne.Scott@orkney.gov.uk

Bill Butterworth
Bikeability Co-ordinator
01738 459622
BButterworth@pkc.gov.uk

Craig Dalziel
Bikeability Co-ordinator
0141 618 7165
craig.dalziel@renfrewshire.gov.uk

Gordon Smith
Outdoor Education Officer
Gordon.Smith@scotborders.gov.uk        
07891 413 491 / 0300 100 1800 (ext 5465)

Elaine Skinley
Road Safety Officer
01595 744560
elaine.skinley@shetland.gov.uk

Please contact your local school's Head Teacher or the Road Safety Officer and we will organise for you to attend the next training day.

Peter Masson
Bikeability Scotland Coordinator
07880 442 153
peter.masson@ayrshireroadsalliance.org

Lynsey MacPhail
Bikeability Scotland Coordinator
lynsey.macphail@southlanarkshire.gov.uk

Read my bio...

Phil Jones
Bikeability Scotland Coordinator
01786 447559
phil@recyke-a-bike.co.uk

Read my bio...

or

Amy Cornish
Cycle Training Coordinator
01786 447559
amy@recyke-a-bike.co.uk

Catherine Tonner
Road Safety Officer
0138 973 7630
Catherine.Tonner@west-dunbarton.gov.uk‚Äč

Nicola Fell
Bikeability Coordinator
nfell@westlothianleisure.com