Civic reception

Conference delegates attended the Civic Reception hosted by City of Edinburgh Council on Monday 4 November.

The winners of the awards presented are:

Cycling Champion of the Year:

  • Councillor Anna Richardson (City Convener for Sustainability and Carbon Reduction, Glasgow City Council) for her commitment and leadership in making Glasgow and Scotland a cleaner and healthier place to live

Highly commended:

  • Laura Nisbet (Breeze ride leader and mountain bike coach) for her commitment to breaking down barriers to women cycling.
  • Ben Raw (Project Coordinator, ‘On Bikes’ at St Paul’s Youth Forum) for his inspiring work making cycling more accessible and overcome transport poverty for young people from a deprived part of Glasgow.

Cycle Shop of the Year:

  • The Cycle Service (Edinburgh) for their dynamic, personal support, described as the “friendliest and most efficient bike mechanics in Edinburgh!”

Bikeability Scotland awards:

Volunteer of the Year:

  • Anna Beedel (Law Primary School, East Lothian) for setting up a Bikeability Scotland programme at one of the largest schools in East Lothian, delivering Level 1 and Level 2 training to over 200 pupils, across 3 year groups.

Highly commended:

  • Robert Steele – Tarbolton Primary School, South Ayrshire

Pupils’ Choice Award

  • [Highly Commended] Colleen Edwards and Laura Cummings (Beancross Primary School, Falkirk) were chosen by pupils for supporting them to take an active role in their own training, establishing a Bikeability Pupil Leadership Group, and offering ‘Bike Breakfasts’ and ‘Dr Bike’ sessions.